Save Me From Myself!

fortress“The name of the Lord is a strong fortress; the godly run to him and are safe.”  Proverbs 18:10

During my quite time I read this verse and I immediately felt this sense of peace in the fact that God is my defender. Then the Holy Spirit prompted me to think deeper, what is He protecting me from? All the obvious answers came to mind; harm, worldly destructive things, my enemies, and myself.

MYSELF?

Yes, you read me right. Surely I wouldn’t do my own self harm. I’m a smart gal, I know what can hurt me. OR do I? Then, the Holy Spirit reminded me of this verse.

There is a way that seems right to a man,
    but its end is the way to death.” Proverbs 16:25

Proverbs seems to think I would hurt myself and it’s exactly right!! My own selfish desires lead to death. “You parents–if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not!” Matthew 7:9-10. These verses are talking about asking God and then receiving but unknowingly (or sometimes even knowingly) I ask for the stone and/or the snake. Instead of choosing things that will build me up and nourish my soul I chose the stone. Instead of choosing things that will benefit me and draw me closer to God, I choose things that hurt me.  

BUT (thank God for this but)

God is my fortress and defender who knows what’s best and he knows all (past and future). He cares about me so deeply that He SAVES ME FROM MYSELF. He doesn’t give us commands to make us feel like slaves to do’s and don’ts, but He is the creator of all things and just knows how things work best.  And he desires you to be set free from all those things that bring destruction, so you can live an abundant life full of joy and peace (john 10:10).  If you are a Christian you know the feeling of conviction, that’s Him drawing you closer to himself. So don’t run away from Him, run to Him.

Empty me of me so I can be filled with You.

Leave a Reply

