Air Your Dirty Laundry

Image result for Dirty laundry on clothes line

 

You know that ole saying, “Don’t air your dirty laundry in public.”  If you’re not familiar with it, it means don’t put your personal business out there for everyone to see.  Well I disagree. I say let it fly. 

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying plaster it all over social media (please Lord, NO!)

Image result for air out your dirty laundry

But there is a freedom in confessing your deepest darkest things to others.   But for some reason we believe that if we keep that sin locked down and no one can see our imperfections that somehow that makes it disappear.  In my experience putting up a false exterior is way more exhausting than just saying, “hey, I stink at life!”

For the longest I struggled with sexual sin in my past relationships and the weight of that sin was almost unbearable. I confessed and cried out to God often, but was still plagued with this sin.  I was so confused why God just would not take it away, but I was skipping a HUGE part of the healing process….James 5:16 says, “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.” Now, being years removed from the battle with that particular sin I see clearly that was what I was missing…confessing my sin to others.

Recently this person came into my life and I felt the Holy Spirit prompting me to confess my past sins to them.  I kept arguing with God…

“No God, why? That sin was so long ago.”

“That would be awkward to just randomly bring up in conversation.”

“This person isn’t even struggling with that sin, so why do I need to tell them?”

Clearly, I was STILL struggling with the idea that putting up a false exterior is somehow better (insert rolling eyes emoji).  So, one day I see this person is clearly upset about something. I ask them what is wrong….the person went on to say they feel unworthy and can’t forgive them self for things in their past. Later in that conversation they confessed that it was sexual sin that they were struggling with.  OK, I see you God.  It became very clear that God knew what He was doing all along, so I confessed my past sins with them and through that we both felt little pieces of our heart begin to heal.

Guys, hear me out…The enemy has got us tricked into thinking that confessing our sins is a bad thing.  He whispers lies into our souls…

“If they knew the true you they would judge you and look at you differently.”

“Do you really want to let them in like that? That’s some pretty shameful stuff.”

“Everyone else has got it together…it’s only you who struggles.”

 

THESE ARE LIES FROM THE DEPTHS OF HELL!!!!

 

God’s word clearly says that with confession comes healing.  Stop putting yourself in bondage with secrecy and shame….with confession comes FREEDOM. Will confessing miraculously stop the sin? Maybe. Maybe not. But I believe in God’s Word and it says…

“Whoever conceals his transgressions will not prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes them will obtain mercy.” Proverbs 28:13

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

This makes me think of that Matthew West song, Grace Wins:

There’s a war between guilt and grace

And they’re fighting for a sacred space

But I’m living proof

Grace wins every time

 

Grace does win every time BUT we must allow it to win.  If we don’t use our hurt and struggles to glorify God then the devil will use it for his advantage.  Confess…show the devil he has no strongholds over you.

 

With much love,

 

Kassie

 

P.S. I know that the devil don’t want you to hear this message because my computer has randomly deleted this like three times and I had to rewrite it. I finally decided to copy and paste into Word every two lines, just in case. (After I finished, it came to me, “hey, maybe I should’ve typed the whole thing in Word to begin with, then copy and paste it, duh!) Plus, the tiny humans decided they wanted to be wild banshees. “Get behind me, Satan!!!”

Leave a Reply

